Aqua Cooling Receives Recognition in Parliament

Hampshire-based specialist cooling engineers, Aqua Group, has been praised by Government ministers in the House of Commons following its recent success at the Institute of Physics awards.

Fareham MP Suella Fernandes used a Treasury Question Time opportunity to ask Chancellor of the Exchequer, Philip Hammond, to join her in congratulating Aqua and its directors Kevin Lancaster and Simon Davis following their recent Commended Innovation Award from the Institute of Physics.

Ms Fernandes said: “Kevin Lancaster and Simon Davis started their business, Aqua Cooling, from scratch in Fareham in 2000, and it now generates £1.7m in profit and is a leading industrial cooling firm. Last week, the Institute of Physics awarded Aqua Cooling its business innovation award for its innovative application of physics to generate jobs and profit. Will the Chancellor join me in congratulating Aqua Cooling and outline what the Government are doing to support research and development, so that other self-starters like Kevin and Simon can grow their businesses?”

Financial Secretary to the Treasury Jane Ellison responded on behalf of the Chancellor and said: “I think that all Treasury Ministers would be delighted to congratulate Aqua Cooling on the innovation award it has won.”

Aqua was presented with a Commended Innovation award for its patented Leak Prevention System (LPS) that puts a basic scientific principle to work in a commercial application for the first time.

Aqua Cooling Sales Director Simon Davis said: “We are delighted to have received valuable recognition from the scientific community and now in Parliament too. It further highlights the enormous potential of our LPS within the data centre industry and the difference our work is making.”

Aqua’s LPS uses the Venturi effect and the basic scientific premise that water under negative pressure cannot escape through a hole or breach in a pipe, hose, or joint.

The unique system has previously been recognised with a Queen’s Award for Enterprise (Innovation) in 2015.